The Lunch-Hour Paradox

The benefit and problem of a lunch hour is that it’s a whole hour. Benefit because, well, it’s an hour not doing any work (and eating), but problem because there’s not actually a lot of things that one can do for a whole hour after you’ve eaten your sandwich.

Well, let me rephrase that. There’s not a lot of things that I can do. Because normal people can just sit in a coffee shop and read a book or use a laptop. But not me. You see, I don’t drink coffee. Like, at all, in any form, and so coffee shops, and the nice sofas they offer, seem somewhat off limits to me what with me not actually wanting anything they sell, just the aforementioned sofas. It seems odd to me as a non-coffeesman how coffee has become the default drink nowadays (or has it always been like that and I’ve been too wrapped up in myself to notice?). So as I peer in from the cold wishing there were coffee shops that didn’t actually serve coffee I have the lunch hour dilemma.

I realized that there’s only so many times a person can look around a Waterstones during a week and not actually buy anything (I think the staff think I’m a little odd) so I’m stuck to just wondering around (at least there’s a semi decent park nearby), and even that’s loosing it’s appeal not that the weather is just cold and wind. Just cold I’m fine with, that’s why hats exist, but cold and wind? No sir.

So what else is there to do? I just want somewhere warm to sit and read a book that isn’t also the place where I work and wont make me feel guilty for not wanting to drink a hot caffeinated liquid. Is that so hard?

 

 

 

In lighter news, I’m currently listening to the recently released Doctor Who Series 5 soundtrack non-stop (on Spotify since Play.com is being unusally slow), and it really is the best thing ever. I don’t know if Steven Moffat just went up to Murray Gold and said “Hey Murray how about this time you make your music really really good?” and Murray went “WHY DID I NEVER THINK OF THIS BEFORE??” because the difference in quality between this and his previous (still good!) work on the show is amazing.

Look if you can use Spotify (if you’re in the right parts of Europe) you can listen to it here which you should be doing and then go out and buy it with actual money because it’s like £10 for TWO DISKS of really good music go go go go: Murray Gold – Doctor Who: Series 5

About Tomtrek

Hi, I'm Tomtrek! I made a blog which has some words in it. I hear that's pretty much standard for most blogs, though.

Posted on November 10, 2010, in General Stuff About Things, Rants that will probably put off new readers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

