Post 2: Hey I remembered my password, that’s a good sign.

Hey look, a second post. Hopefully this one will be less confusing than the first.

So the process of starting a blog, it seems, is harder than it looks. I have several topics in my head that have been running around in there for a while that I need to let out before the scratch up the furniture, but on writing this second post I sit here oddly directionless. Do I use up one of the topics I had thought of originally? Do I do an off-the-cuff rant about the state of television after the recently announced cancellation of Caprica (and believe me, there’s a rant in here somewhere)? Or do I do what I seem to be doing right now and write a fourth wall breaking blog about that’s about whether or not I should write a fourth wall breaking blog post.

I suppose I should go into a little more detail about the reason(s) why this blog exists. You see, as I mentioned before I work in SEO, Search Engine Optimisation, and by “work in” I mean “hired with no experience in the field, given a book to read, then made head of an SEO section in our company (with no pay increase)”. So if being flung straight into the deep end wasn’t enough to make me dislike the work then the actual work itself was more than enough. You see, despite being put in charge of other people, the basic plan of our SEO attack is still out of my hands, with it being controlled by those-on-high, some of whom know less about it than I. And it’s our most recent tactic that has spurred this blog and the (hopefully not too boring) rants (and maybe even, like, not-rants) that will go on it. As I previously mentioned, my day is now spent making blogs. Bad blogs. Blogs used only to add a link into our site. Yes, blog-reading-people, spam blogs. And I hate it. I hate spam online, useless information that does nothing but make the internet harder to use for the actual normal people who use it. So that’s one reason why I’m here typing now – I want to give back to the blog word which I so sorrily pollute with actual content on an actual blog written by an actual person with no link-spamming in mind.

It’s actually quite refreshing for me, as due to the nature of our approach the blog posts we throw a link on to have to look, well, like blog posts. Which usually entails writing a couple hundred words for each about a subject I don’t care about, isn’t interesting to me, and basically not what I would ever want to blog about. Which is why I am blogging about what I want to blog about. And it shows, too. Writing this post came easily to me, I literally just started typing and the thoughts in my head went onto the screen my leg is itchy. Compare this to writing the bad blogs where I can sit at around 100 words for about half an hour wondering which part of my brain is dying.

Please don’t hate me. I don’t want to do this forever. I’d like to write music again, that would be nice.

Well now that that’s out of my system I hopefully wont rant like that again (was that even a rant? I have blogging self esteem issues). But seriously though if you take one thing from this post it’s that the cancellation of Caprica was a bad thing. It was a show wherein a cute girl hugged a robot. Don’t cancel shows that do that, you might as well cancel rainbows.

Taken from Caprica, I'LL MISS YOU.

There wasn't enough robot-hugging before Caprica and now there'll be even less.

About Tomtrek

Hi, I'm Tomtrek! I made a blog which has some words in it. I hear that's pretty much standard for most blogs, though.

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Rants that will probably put off new readers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

