This is going to be the Worst Blog Ever.

Holy crap I’m actually writing a blog. This is scary as it’s literally something I’d never thought I’d actually do. Not because I’m anti-blog (although, when you think about it, the word ‘blog’ is a bit silly), but because I honestly thought I had nothing interesting to say. In fact I probably still don’t.

But what’s changed? Well, for starters, my current job has me working with blogs every day, making blog posts, none of which are actually about, like, the things in my head. Which is sort of the point of a blog. So I guess because I’m doing BAD blogging as part of a job (I will explain this later probably) I want to counter that with GOOD blogging which is why I’m sat here typing this into Word.

Oh right I forgot this is the customary “Hello this is my first blog post which literally no one will read” post. Hello! I’m Tomtrek. It’s actually interesting that I’m using this name on here – it’s the moniker I’ve been using online for about ten years now (because when you’re 14 and you’re trying to think of an internet-name and your brain goes “Wait, my name is Tom… I like Star Trek… WAIT A SECOND.” you stick with it) – but I’ve often strived to keep my online-me and my real life-me (mostly) separate, and since I think I’ll probably end up talking (mostly) about real-life-me using this name it could prove interesting.

Are you still reading? Wow. Thanks! Anyway, I guess I should say “Here’s who I am” because I guess people like to read that sort of thing. As I mentioned I, that is me, am Tomtrek. I am, like about 90% of the internet, a computer user who likes like science fiction and computers and games and stuff and stuff. Pretty standard stuff. Still reading? Awesome. Apart from that my main focus is music. I actually have a damn MASTERS degree for Composing for Film & Television, which I am constantly trying to use in any practical way. It’s also my main musical leaning in terms of actually listening to music, meaning I am totally out of the loop when it comes to most of that music with, like, guitars and stuff. But I can tell you a ton about the use of electro-acoustic techniques in film scores. A ton. The field I’m currently working in is SEO. SEO stands for “Search Engine Optimisation” and it’s one of the most soul-destroying jobs ever (I mean that I’ve done in my life. I’m sure being the guy who has to put down puppies when they’re sick is more soul destroying than this. That poor guy.). It’s that job which has me posting so many bad blogs as one of the (slightly dodgy) methods we use, which in turn inspired me to make this blog so I guess that’s a good thing?

I’m also a very big fan of the actress Michelle Trachtenberg who I think is actually wonderful in every way, but as I’m pretty sure most people have stopped reading at this point I’ll try and keep the Trachtenlove to a minimum so as to not scare off the two people who might actually be reading this (you’re lovely, both of you. Your hair looks great today.).

Wow again this is turning into a mad rambling stream of consciousness thing. I guess this is my “writing style” (as a side-note, I did used to have a website many years ago where I’d post sort of random things in my head like ‘WHAT IF THE PREDATOR FROM ‘PREDATOR’ WAS IN A SIT-COM?’ and people seemed to like it, so you never know). So why should you read this blog (if you are, in fact, still reading it)? Well honestly I don’t know. This will probably just be some sort of outlet for the thoughts in my brain that coalesce while I’m writing the mind-numbing blogs I do for a living. But it seems that the internet LOVES reading the dull minute of a person’s life so I should fit right in. If people actually read it – lovely. If people actually read it and maybe sort of like it a little bit maybe – lovely lovely.

Right, so, introduction post over. Now I can do the fun part of a blog which is tweaking the display settings and seeing how many pictures of ducks one man can have on his blog.

Maybe I’ll post tomorrow. Maybe I won’t. MYSTERY…

(I probably will [the mystery was just to encourage people to come back again])
Extra: Oh holy crap WordPress just lets me use EVERYTHING as a link I’m going to overuse THE HELL out of this.

About Tomtrek

Hi, I'm Tomtrek! I made a blog which has some words in it. I hear that's pretty much standard for most blogs, though.

Posted on October 27, 2010, in General Stuff About Things, Posts where I manage to talk about Michelle Trachtenberg even though the post wasn't about Michelle Trachtenberg, Rants that will probably put off new readers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

